Cauliflower in Spicy Coconut Sauce

I have been MIA for around six months. In this time period I have learnt a lot about myself. I have begun to analyze the kind of food I like, and have ventured into experimenting more with baking. Meanwhile I have cooked some good food, like this recipe which I not only made for my family, but also for a get together at our house. I adapted a recipe I found in a magazine to my taste, removed some ingredients, replaced some to get this absolutely yum dish.

The original recipe has red capsicum added, which is listed in the ingredients below, but I didn’t add the capsicum. The recipe also had sambal oelek added, which I didn’t use. And I made my tomato pasta sauce to add to the dish. Tandoori mix powder can be replaced with a mix of spices of your own taste. And I am not a garam masala fan, so I either reduce the quantity , or don’t use it at all

Recipe

Ingredients

1 onion, sliced
1 red capsicum (cut in strips)
600 gm cauliflower (cut into florets)
2 tbsp oil
20 g butter
1 tsp garlic paste
1 tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp tandoori mix powder
1 tsp garam masala
2 tsp ketchup
1 tsp red chili flakes
1 tsp brown sugar
Salt, to taste
1/3 cup tomato pasta sauce (recipe at the end)
1/4 cup chicken stock
1 cup coconut cream
2 tsp coriander leaves

Method

Heat oil and butter. When butter is melted, add the onion. Cook on medium high heat until it changes color. Add garlic, turmeric powder, cumin, tandoori mix powder, garam masala, and red chilli flakes. Cook over medium heat for a minute, or until aromatic. Add the ketchup and mix.

Add the tomato pasta sauce, coconut cream and chicken stock. Add salt. Stir in the cauliflower and capsicum. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until cauliflower is cooked through and tender. Stir in the coriander leaves. Garnish with coriander leaves. Serve hot with naan or boiled rice. Happy cooking!!!

Note: 

Tomato pasta sauce

Take 3 tomatoes and peel them by making a cross on the end and immersing in boiling water for 30 seconds and chop them roughly. Heat olive and saute a small onion (chopped) until translucent. Add the chopped tomatoes. Add 1/2 tsp each of dried oregano, basil and thyme. Add salt and pepper to taste. Cook until tomatoes are tender. Cool to room temperature. Puree in a blender. Refrigerate until use .Use as desired.

Leave a comment